Brixton Parish Council Responsibilities & Representatives



May 2025

Item	Role	People <u>(lead un</u> derlined)
Administration	Parish Clerk's employment	
and Organisation	Councillors' duties Press liaison	<u>Cllr Hitchins</u> & Wills
Finance	Responsible Finance Officer	Parish Clerk
	Finance policy	Clerk & <u>Cllr Wills</u>
	External Audit	PKF Littlejohn
	Internal audit	Peter Vassallo
	Independent BPC quarterly check	Cllr Nix
	BrixtonDevon website	Kirstie Aldridge
	Parish Council Website	Clerk
Communications	LOVEBrixton Facebook page	Ian Calvert on behalf of BPC
Communications	Brixton Village Facebook page	Greg Webb on behalf of BPC
	Sherford Facebook page	TBC on behalf of BPC
Planning	Planning Committee Chair	<u>Cllr Martin</u>
	Planning Committee Vice Chair	Cllr Wills (Cllr Clegg)
	Committee Members	All Clirs
Environment	Repairs and maintenance	Clerk & Cllrs
	Grass cutting verges	Clerk & Cllrs
	Silverbridge Way	Cllr Clegg
	The Green	Cllr Wills & Edd Arran on behalf of BPC
	Tree Warden	Cllr Hawken
	Bee Wild Group	Cllr Hitchins with Alex Whish
	Climate Change Emergency Planning Working Group	Cllrs Hitchins, Nix, Carson, MacLennan and Clerk
	River Yealm Water Quality Working Group	Cllrs Hitchins, Carson and Clerk
	Sustainable South Hams	Cllr Hitchins
Public Rights of Way /P3	P3 Co-ordination	Cllr Hawken
Traffic	Community Road Warden Community Speed Watch – Brixton Community Speed Watch - Sherford Traffic Management Working Group	Roger Smith Roger Smith, Jim Eccles Cllr MacLennan Cllrs Hitchins, Wills, Carson, MacLennan and Clerk

Parish Plans		
Brixton Neighbourhood Plan	Implementation	Cllr Hitchins
Community Emergency Plan	Co-ordinator	ТВС
Sport & Recreation Plan	Implementation	Cllr Hitchins
Brixstix Play Space	Inspection/monitoring	Cllr Gillard
Land at Cofflette	Cofflete Amenity Space Project	Cllrs Hawken, Gillard and Carson with Alex Whish
Monkey Lane	Implementation	Cllr Hitchins in conjunction with DCC
Other BPC representatives	Brixton Community Association	Cllr Hitchins
	Brixton Composters	Cllr Clegg
	Brixton Feoffee Trust	Cllr Hitchins
	Carrollsland Community Liaison	Cllr Nix
	Dementia Friendly Parishes around The Yealm	Cllr Hitchins
	Ivybridge & District Association of Local Councils (IDALC)	Cllrs Wills & Hitchins
	Police Advocate Representative	Cllr Martin
	Sherford Community Liaison	Cllr Hitchins, MacLennan and Nix
	 Sherford Community Panel Including the following: The Communications Working Group The Shops and Events Working Group The Environment and Heritage Working Group 	Cllr MacLennan
	Sherford Community Church	Cllr MacLennan
	Sherford Green Infrastructure Naming Programme	Cllr MacLennan
	Sherford Over 50s Group	Cllr MacLennan
	South Devon National Landscape Liaison Councillor	Cllr Hitchins
	Yealm Estuary to Moor Project	Cllr Carson
Other representatives on behalf of BPC	BPC Snow Warden	Roger Smith
	Hele Foundation	Roger Wakeham on behalf of BPC

River Yealm Harbour Authority	Martyn Oates on behalf of BPC
Sherford Community Plan	Grahame MacLennan on behalf of BPC Cllr MacLannan
Westcountry Rivers Trust Citizen Science Investigation	Alex Whish on behalf of BPC
Yealm Estuary to Moor Project	Alex Whish on behalf of BPC